State Wise List of Ratification of GST Bill

By | September 12, 2016
(Last Updated On: September 12, 2016)

The Goods and Services Tax Bill or GST Bill (Constitutional Bill) has received president asset on 8th September. At that time 18 states had consented for GST. Now 21 states have ratified GST Bill.

The introduction of Goods and Services Tax (GST) would be a significant step in the reform of indirect taxation in India. Amalgamating several Central and State taxes into a single tax would mitigate cascading or double taxation, facilitating a common national market. The simplicity of the tax should lead to easier administration and enforcement. From the consumer point of view, the biggest advantage would be in terms of a reduction in the overall tax burden on goods, which is currently estimated at 25%-30%, free movement of goods from one state to another without stopping at state borders for hours for payment of state tax or entry tax and reduction in paperwork to a large extent.

  1. Assam (12 August 2016)
  2. Bihar (16 August 2016)
  3. Jharkhand (17 August 2016)
  4. Himachal Pradesh (22 August 2016)
  5. Chhattisgarh (22 August 2016)
  6. Gujarat (23 August 2016)
  7. Madhya Pradesh (24th August 2016)
  8. Delhi (24th August 2016)
  9. Nagaland (26th August 2016)
  10. Maharashtra (29th August 2016)
  11. Haryana (29th August 2016)
  12. Telangana (30th August 2016)
  13. Mozoram (30th August 2016)
  14. Sikkim (30th August 2016)
  15. Goa (31st August 2016)
  16. Orissa (1st September 2016)
  17. Rajasthan (2nd September 2016)
  18. Puducherry (2nd September 2016)
  19. Andhra Pradesh (8th September 2016)
  20. Arunachal Pradesh (8th  September 2016)
  21. Meghalaya (9th September 2016 )

Related Post

  • After President’s Assent, next steps ahead on GST
Category: GST

About CA Satbir Singh

Chartered Accountant having 12+ years of Experience in Taxation , Finance and GST related matters and can be reached at Email :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.