List of banks authorised to accept payments of Income Tax dues /Advance Tax

By | February 18, 2017
(Last Updated On: February 18, 2017)

Pay IT dues in advance at RBI or at authorised bank branches – March 2017

Date : Feb 16, 2017

The Reserve Bank of India has appealed to income tax assessees to remit their income tax dues sufficiently in advance of the due date. It has also stated that assessees can use alternate channels like select branches of agency banks or the facility of online payment of taxes offered by these banks. These will obviate the inconvenience involved in standing in long queues at the Reserve Bank offices.

It is observed that the rush for remitting Income –Tax dues through the Reserve Bank of India has been far too heavy towards the end of March every year and it becomes difficult for the Reserve Bank to cope with the pressure of issuing receipts although additional counters to the maximum extent possible are provided for the purpose.

Twenty-nine agency banks are authorised to accept payments of Income Tax dues. These are:

1.Allahabad Bank16.Syndicate Bank
2.Andhra Bank17.UCO Bank
3.Bank of Baroda18.Union Bank of India
4.Bank of India19.United Bank of India
5.Bank of Maharashtra20.Vijaya Bank
6.Canara Bank21.State Bank of India
7.Central Bank of India22.State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
8.Corporation Bank23.State Bank of Hyderabad
9.Dena Bank24.State Bank of Travancore
10.IDBI Bank25.State Bank of Mysore
11.Indian Bank26.State Bank of Patiala
12.Indian Overseas Bank27.HDFC Bank Ltd.
13.Oriental Bank of Commerce28.Axis Bank Ltd.
14.Punjab & Sindh Bank29.ICICI Bank Ltd.
15.Punjab National Bank

Ajit Prasad
Assistant Adviser

Press Release : 2016-2017/2208

One thought on “List of banks authorised to accept payments of Income Tax dues /Advance Tax

  1. Pingback: TaxHeal - GST and Income Tax Complete Guide Portal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.