States Exempted from Tax Refund after GST

By | March 23, 2018
(Last Updated On: March 23, 2018)
Ministry of Finance

States Exempted from Tax Refund after GST

Posted On: 22 MAR 2018 4:51PM by PIB Delhi

The North Eastern and Hilly States have not been provided exemption from tax refund till March, 2027 under GST. The GST Council in the meeting held on 30.09.2016, had decided that all entities exempted from payment of indirect tax under the then existing tax incentive scheme shall pay tax in the GST regime. It was also decided that the decision to continue with any incentive given to specific industries in existing industrial policies of States or through any Schemes of the Central Government, shall be with the concerned State or Central Government and in case the State or Central Government decides to continue any existing exemption/incentive/deferral Scheme, then it shall be administered by way of a reimbursement mechanism through the budgetary route, the modalities for which shall be worked-out by the concerned State/Centre.


The Central Government, w.e.f. 01.07.2017, has notified a Scheme for grant of Budgetary Support to the eligible units which were availing exemption or refund benefit, for the residual period of exemption under erstwhile Central Excise regime. The support under the scheme will be equal to the share of Central Government of CGST/IGST paid by the unit after utilisation of credit of Central and Integrated Tax.


This was stated by Shri Shiv Pratap Shukla, Minister of State for Finance in written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *