Restrict who can view the member lists in Google Chat spaces
Restrict who can view the member lists in Google Chat spaces
Space owners and managers can now control who can view the full list of members in a Google Chat space, providing enhanced privacy and administrative control for sensitive, large-scale, or external collaboration spaces.
Previously, any member of a Google Chat space could view the complete list of participants. We are introducing a new space setting—View members—that allows space owners and managers to restrict member visibility within one of four permission levels:
- Owners only
- Owners & managers
- All members (default)
- Entire organization
Similar to membership privacy controls in Google Groups, there are scenarios where limiting member list visibility enhances organization security or privacy:
- Customer spaces: Collaborating with multiple external clients, vendors, or partners
- Sensitive forums: Allowing users to join communities on sensitive topics without revealing their membership in that community
- Confidential projects: Prevent participants in broad project spaces from seeing every internal or external user who has been added to the initiative
Please note that regardless of the member visibility restriction, users will always be able to see the name and profile of anyone who actively sends a message in the space.
Getting started
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: Navigate to Space Settings > Membership > View Members permission control, and select the desired visibility level.
Rollout pace
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) started on August 24, 2026
Availability
- Available to all Google Workspace customers
Resources
- Google Help: Manage view members permissions in Google Chat
Available Visibility Levels
- Owners only: Only the creator/owner of the space can access the list.
- Owners & managers: Access is limited strictly to owners and designated space managers.
- All members: Anyone added to the space can view everyone else (this is the default setting).
- Entire organization: Anyone in the organization can see the list, even if they aren’t part of the space (only available if the space is set to “discoverable”). [1, 2]
How to Change the Permission Setting
On Desktop (Google Chat or Gmail)
- Open Google Chat or your Gmail account.
- Click on the desired Space from the left panel.
- Click the Space name at the top of the window, then select Space settings from the dropdown menu.
- Locate the Membership section and click on View Members.
- Select your preferred visibility level and click Save. [1, 2, 3, 4]
On Mobile (Android or iOS)
- Open the Google Chat app or the Gmail app.
- Select your Space and tap the Space name at the very top of the screen.
- Scroll down and tap Space settings.
- Tap View members and pick the level of restriction you want.
- Tap Save in the top right corner. [1, 2, 5]
Read more
. View Google Chat usage metrics in Gemini reports dashboard
. Introducing Gemini Enterprise
. Record presentations in Google Slides with Google Vids
. Galaxy Event August 2026: Official Livestream | Samsung
. Here’s what’s new with Pixel Buds Pro 2 and Pixel Buds 2a.
. Keep tabs on your valuables with Google Pixel Tag
. Google Workspace Weekly Recap – August 21, 2026
. Now you can connect even more of your favorite apps and services to Gemini.
. How we built the new GPS on Pixel Watch 5
. Generate interactive simulations and models in the Gemini app
for more refer Gemini website click here
for more refer Artificial Intelligence website click here


